Life beyond the PhD’ doctoral workshop facilitators and participants


ISANA Proceedings

All ISANA conference presentations are collated in an online Proceedings.  Click below to view past years.

The 2016 presentations will be added shortly.  We will email all delegates when they are available.


Thank you for attending!

The theme for the 2016 conference was Evidence Based Practice in International Education Services.

International Education Professionals are now recognised as integral to not only the wellbeing of international students but also to the sustainability of an internationalised campus. As professionals, they engage in a range of practices that include a diversity of support services (eg. accommodation, admissions, advising, careers and employment advising, counselling, enrolment, health and wellbeing, language and learning, and student mobility). For a long time, these services have been based on best practice benchmarks, experience and student feedback. More recently, there is an increased recognition for data driven and evidence based practice. Therefore, most support service units now also collect information and feedback from international students about their offerings and services. However, it is not always clear how this process can be managed and how the feedback can translate into actual practice and be used to drive policies for the campus.

This conference seeks to explore evidence based practice in international education services by looking at the following;

  1. Improved methodologies and ways for Practitioners to get student feedback.
  2. Improved methodologies and ways for Practitioners to monitor outcomes and evaluate impacts of their programs.
  3. Designing policies and practice based on collected evidence from the coal face.
  4. Case studies in holistic approaches to using evidence to improve systems of support (including the use of learning management systems and student records).
  5. The use of learning analytics in understanding the needs of students.
  6. Evidence based practice can be applied to all areas of international education services.

We look forward to seeing you in Wellington in December 2016.

Jason Cushen, University of Otago
2016 Conference Convenor





Sponsors will be recognised as keen and vital supporters of the field. Visit the sponsors page for more information.

Who Should Attend

  • Mentor program staff
  • Mediation and conflict resolution staff
  • Chaplaincy and multi-faith support
  • Careers advisors
  • Student wellbeing advisors
  • Academics
  • Academic advisors
  • Student support services
  • International student advisors and counsellors
  • Exchange/Study Abroad coordinators
  • Learning and Language providers
  • NZAID and AusAID liaison officers
  • International office administrators, marketing managers
  • Accommodation officers
  • Students and teachers
  • Government personnel
  • Overseas government, consulate and embassy officials
  • International education and recruitment agents
  • Researchers in international education
  • Supporting companies such as accommodation providers and insurance providers

And anyone else with an interest in the quality of the international student experience.

Conference Managers

For all enquiries please contact the team at Conference Design:
+61 3 6231 2999

Facebook Posts

Unable to display Facebook posts.
Show error

Error: Error validating application. Application has been deleted.
Type: OAuthException
Code: 190
Please refer to our Error Message Reference.


Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa
Cable Street
Wellington 6011
New Zealand

Plenary Speakers & Committee Members

Plenary Speakers

We are pleased to announce the following plenary speakers have been confirmed for the Symposium. Click here for biographies of the speakers and their topics.

  • Distinguished Professor Paul Spoonley
    Massey University
  • Dr Barbara Kappler
    University of Minnesota


  • Jason Cushen
    University of Otago
  • Terry McGrath
    International Student Ministries of New Zealand
Committee Reports
Password required

Committee Members

  • Associate Professor Shanton Chang
    University of Melbourne
  • Sylvia Hooker
    Massey University
  • Vivienne Anderson
    University of Otago
  • Chris Beard
    Victorian University of Wellington
  • Lesley McDonald
    Massey University
  • Mary Ann Seow
    ISANA President